The Jewish QuarterJewish Museum of Rome
In 1555 Pope Paolo IV established the ghetto, one of the most decrepit and rundown districts of the city, where Jews were forced to live apart from the rest of the population.
In 1870 Jews were finally free and, within the next decades, the whole area was demolished and rebuilt over the river level.
The new neighborhood, as we see it nowadays, extends over an area of four city blocks, crossed in its lenght by Via Catalana and Via del Tempio. It is delimited on one side by Via Portico d’Ottavia and on the other by the Tiber river.
Expert tour guides from the Museum will guide you to a pleasant walk through the picturesque lanes, streets and squares of the Jewish neighborhood. From Lungotevere De’ Cenci, to San Gregorio’s Church, to Largo 16 Ottobre, passing trough Via del Portico d’Ottavia, Via della Reginella, Piazza delle Cinque Scole and Largo Stefano Tachè.
The “Jewish Ghetto” is a lively showplace of modern and ancient Rome. Even though most of the original area disappeared, there are still visible evidence and tangible testimonies of its history.